WHAT IS IT?

Just a few of the things people ask us about:

Agar agar is a seaweed derivative, used as a substitute for gelatin. It is kosher without certification.

Cholic Acid comes from animal bile (yummy!) and is used as an emulsifier in dried egg whites. Obviously, it needs hashgachah.

Oil Of Rose is just what it sounds like! It comes from a distillate of Bulgarian damask rose petals. It is kosher and it makes for wonderful b’samim to use on your hands in shul.

Alpha Amylase is used to break down the starches in flour. It comes from pig pancreas. It is a big NO_NO!

Enocianina (sounds so exotic and is so not!) is a fancy name for grape skin extract used for food coloring. It needs hashgachah.

So, now you know!

Posted on June 22, 2011 at 12:04 am by Rabbi Jeffrey Rappoport · Permalink
In: General Topics, Kosher Alert, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply