Today is February 21, 2018 / /

Kosher Nexus
  • Find us on Facebook


  • UTJ is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

WHAT IS IT?

Just a few of the things people ask us about:

Agar agar is a seaweed derivative, used as a substitute for gelatin. It is kosher without certification.

Cholic Acid comes from animal bile (yummy!) and is used as an emulsifier in dried egg whites. Obviously, it needs hashgachah.

Oil Of Rose is just what it sounds like! It comes from a distillate of Bulgarian damask rose petals. It is kosher and it makes for wonderful b’samim to use on your hands in shul.

Alpha Amylase is used to break down the starches in flour. It comes from pig pancreas. It is a big NO_NO!

Enocianina (sounds so exotic and is so not!) is a fancy name for grape skin extract used for food coloring. It needs hashgachah.

So, now you know!